coaemsp web logo  
coaemsp logo
Staff Bios

George W. Hatch Jr., EdD, LP, EMT-P
Executive Director

George joined CoAEMSP as Executive Director in 2007. He is responsible for the administration of the CoAEMSP process that includes the development of accreditation standards, liaison with the board of directors and their appointing organizations, liaison between the CoA and the Commission on the Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP), as well as supporting the accredited EMS education programs in the United States.

George has over 40 years of experience as an EMS provider and professional educator. His career accomplishments include service as an Emergency Medical Technician-Paramedic in Galveston, Texas; former president of the Texas Association of EMTs; liaison to the National Registry of EMTs; member of the American Heart Association's Subcommittee on Pediatric Resuscitation; professor; past Chairman and Program Director of the Emergency Medical Services Department at Houston Community College where he worked for 24 years; and content level leader (Resuscitation) in the National Association of EMS Educators project that developed the new EMS education standards under contract with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

Gordon A. Kokx, PhD, NRP
Associate Director

Gordy originally served as Assistant Director of Accreditation Services since inception of the position in 2013. Prior to joining the staff, the former member of the CoAEMSP Board of Directors was professor of merit, EMS program director, department chair and acting Dean of Health Sciences and Human Services at the College of Southern Idaho where he designed, implemented and directed the first public college-based Paramedic program in the state's history. He has worked in Michigan, Florida and Idaho, and has over 33 years of clinical and teaching experience in the prehospital, flight and hospital-based areas of EMS.

Gordy has served as a contributing author and reviewer for several EMS publications, conducted several EMS-related research studies, and has been a frequent speaker at local, state, and national conferences. He has served on many local, state, and national committees and has received many professional honors in the field of EMS education, including the prestigious "Teacher of the Year" award at the College of Southern Idaho. His degrees include an AAS in EMS, BS in Allied Health Education, MS in Education - Educational Technology, and a PhD in Education. His award-nominated doctoral research focused on the context, challenges, and best practices of program director leadership.

Jennifer Anderson Warwick, MA
Accreditation Consultant

Jennifer has over 23 years of extensive experience working in the accreditation field. She has been a staff member for multiple Committees on Accreditation in CAAHEP, and since 2008 has been the Executive Director for the Accreditation Review Committee for the Anesthesiologist Assistant (ARC-AA). Jennifer is Chair of the CAAHEP Standards Committee and conducts site visitor training for several CoAs within CAAHEP. Previously Jennifer was a CAAHEP Board Liaison, a member of the CAAHEP Distance Education Task Force, and has served on several CAAHEP planning committees for the Annual Meeting and Summer Workshop. She was a member of the CAAHEP Board of Directors, being elected Vice President in 2002.

Jennifer has a BA in Communication Studies from Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, Minn.; and an MA in Communication Studies & Corporate Training from the University of Denver, Denver, Colo. Jennifer’s volunteer activities include teaching for Junior Achievement, volunteering at church, volunteering with PTO, and chaperoning many of her daughters’ school field trips. Jennifer has been married to Scott for 20 years; they have two daughters and live in Southeastern Wisconsin. She "lives to travel" and loves experiencing new places and activities with her family, with a goal of visiting every continent and all 50 states.

Lynn Caruthers, BS
Accreditation Services Assistant

Lynn has 12 years of experience providing administrative management services in academic (programmatic) accreditation in four-year institutions. She served seven of those 12 years a an accreditor with CAAHEP and five years with a national accrediting agency as an administrative manager. Lynn graduated from The University of Texas at Austin with a BS in Applied Science and Development. She spent six years as an Elementary Educator. Lynn has two daughters and one granddaughter. She enjoys traveling, cooking and watching her granddaughter perform in the high school band.

Lisa Collard, AS
Accreditation Services Specialist

Lisa has 14 years of accreditation experience and has previously worked with the CoAEMSP from 2003-2009 when the Committee was located in Bedford, TX. During that time she was also the sole staff person for the Joint Review Committee on Education in Cardiovascular Technology (JRC-CVT). Lisa and her husband of 25 years have two children.

Karen Franks, AAS
Assistant to the Executive Director

Karen began her accreditation career as an Accreditation Services Coordinator before moving up to her current role. Prior to working with the CoAEMSP, she spent 15 years in the insurance industry, first as a health insurance underwriter and then as an internal claims auditor, before returning to school in 2002. She earned her AAS in Computer Science/Database Design and Management and upon completion of her studies in 2005, started to work for the CoAEMSP. She has four children, including teenaged boy-girl twins who keep her busy. Her past times include history and family research and she is an active member of numerous historic and genealogy organizations. Karen enjoys travelling with her twins, who want to visit as many states as possible! (18 and counting). Her future plans include returning to school to complete a degree in History.

Keith Orloff, CST, FAST
Technical Consultant

Keith has over 40 years of progressive experience as a surgical technologist practitioner, educator, program director; as a college compliance coordinator and director of education; and as the national director of surgical technology for a ten-campus system.

From 2007 through 2016, he served as Executive Director of the Accreditation Review Council on Education in Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (ARC/STSA). His progressive volunteer leadership service in the surgical technology professional association includes Director, Vice-President and President of the Southern California society; founding Board member and Director for the California State Assembly; and Secretary of the national Board of Directors.

Other accomplishments include progressive leadership service as Chair of the national credentialing body in Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting after serving on its Exam Writing Committee; and service to the national accrediting Committee on Accreditation (ARC/STSA) as Director, Secretary/Treasurer, Vice-Chair and Chair. He previously served on the CAAHEP Bylaws Committee and currently serves on the CAAHEP Standards Committee.

Site Map